skip navigation

Butch Raymond Scholarship winners announced

05/03/2018, 11:45am CDT
By Sanford Media Relations

BURNSVILLE, Minn. - The Northern Sun Intercollegiate Conference (NSIC) is proud to announce the presentation of the fifth annual Butch Raymond Scholarship, sponsored by Sanford Health. In 2017-18 the scholarship was increased to $240,000 and will be divided among selected recipients at each of the NSIC member institutions.

The scholarship is in recognition of Butch Raymond, the NSIC Commissioner from 2004 to 2014. For over a decade, Raymond led the NSIC from an eight team league to a 16-team super conference. During his tenure, the league won 13 team national championships while achieving a high level of academic success.

“Congratulations to the student-athletes who have dedicated themselves to excellence in the classroom and in competition,” said Sanford Health President and CEO Kelby Krabbenhoft. “Sanford Health is honored to invest in the next-generation of health care professionals through the Butch Raymond Scholarship. Butch’s service to the NSIC always prioritized the student-athlete experience, and it’s fitting his name be attached to this scholarship.”

The scholarship is awarded to one or two student-athletes at each of the 16 NSIC institutions. To be eligible for the scholarship, the recipient must be a senior academically in 2018-19, have a GPA of 3.20 or higher, be participating in intercollegiate athletics and plan to work in a health related field or attend graduate school in a health related field. The student-athletes will be publicly recognized at a home athletic event during the 2018-19 academic year.

2018-19 Butch Raymond Scholarship Recipients

Institution Student-Athlete Name Medical Field Sport
Augustana Kornelia Staniszewska Exercise Science and Fitness Management Women’s Tennis
Augustana Bailey Neises Exercise Science - Athletic Training Wrestling
Bemidji State Anna Fobbe Exercise Science Women’s Soccer
Bemidji State Brooke Phillips Biology Softball
Concordia-St. Paul Jade Weller Exercise Science & Biology Women’s Soccer
Concordia-St. Paul Brooke Salo Biology Women’s Soccer
University of Mary Megan Lowery Psychology Women’s Soccer
University of Mary Kylie Pastian Biology, Pre-Medicine Track & Field
Minnesota Crookston Callie Schapekahm Health Management Volleyball
Minnesota Crookston Reed Hjelle Exercise Science and Wellness Baseball
Minnesota Duluth Jason Balts Physical Education Football
Minnesota Duluth Makenzie Morgen Human Biology Volleyball
Minnesota State Morgan Cottew Communication Disorders Soccer
Minnesota State Karson Arrenholz Marketing Men’s Basketball
MSU Moorhead Emily Waletzko Biology and Exercise Science Track & Field
MSU Moorhead Jacqueline Volkert Healthcare Services Administration Women’s Basketball
Minot State Sydney Hall Radiology Technology Track & Field
Minot State Michael Borst Nursing Baseball
Northern State Josh Coyle Biology Football
Northern State Anika Fredrick Chemistry and Forensic Chemistry Women’s Basketball
Sioux Falls Jacey Huinker Nursing Women’s Basketball
Sioux Falls Makenna Rockeman Biology Volleyball
Southwest Minnesota State Jonathan Dicke Exercise Science Football
Southwest Minnesota State Kaylee Burmeister Exercise Science Volleyball
St. Cloud State Kate Kopeck Biomedical Sciences Softball
St. Cloud State Brett Valasquez Biomedical Sciences Wrestling
Upper Iowa Samantha Shafranski Biology Softball
Upper Iowa Hans Alwin Business Healthcare Baseball
Wayne State Natalie Rech Chemistry and Health Sciences Women’s Soccer
Wayne State Vance Janssen Chemistry Health Sciences/ Pre-Pharmacy Men’s Basketball
Winona State Madison Worke Biology Women’s Basketball
Winona State Colin Valley Spec. Education / Alternative Behavioral Studies Football

Tag(s): Home  News